Tumbling, Tumbling

This is my second of five poems for my creative writing class assignment. I used the photograph below to inspire myself from the webpage she instructed us to use. I was not allowed to write haiku’s, or use rhyme, it had to be contemporary, the poems also have to have concrete nouns matching lines in poem. I hope you enjoy it. Now onto my third poem for the set needed.

Tumbling, Tumbling

Tumbling, Tumbling

Leave your trash there on the sidewalk.
Burn enough petroleum so the air turns black.
You’ll never look back.
Make your money stealing resources from the world.
Fresh water, phosphorus, scandium and terbium you hide.

Build your empires killing mankind.
Tumbling, tumbling, collapsing down.
It’s all obscuring mother earth.

Toxic waste decorates our yard.
Smog fills our lungs.
You should be so proud of yourself.
The damage you’ve done.
Dying slowly, like a frog in boiling water.

Build your empires killing mankind.
Tumbling, tumbling, collapsing down.
It’s all obscuring mother earth.

The sun is baking us.
Butylated hydroxyanisole, aspartame, maybe some sodium benzoate on the side.
Human buffet just for you!
Build your empires killing mankind.
Tumbling, tumbling, collapsing down.
It’s all obscuring mother earth.

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Wednesday, October 7, 2015, in art, creative writing, culture, life, poems, Poetry, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

