Nature Notices

I have to work on an assignment for my creative writing class right now, poetry! I have to write five poems with a minimum of 800 words for the total packet of five poems, the poetry has to be contemporary, I am not allowed to rhyme. The first poem that came out of me is called Nature Notices. One option for the assignment is that we can look at a selection of pictures from a webpage she gave us from here http://www.open2interpretation.com/waters_edge_results.html and choose one to write a poem about, so I chose the picture of a woman sitting on a log. Feel free to leave me feedback. Now I must write four more poems before tomorrow! Hope you enjoy the first.

naturenotices

Nature Notices

The morning fog hovers just above the sea.
It waits for someone to notice.
Notice it dancing above the surface.
Notice the wispy movement.
I notice!
Alone, on a log that keeps me company
I wait. I wait for someone to notice.
Notice the absence of my shoes.
Notice the absence of my coat.
The wind notices me.
It greets me, mist gently kissing my cheeks.
The sea notices me on this log.
It greets me, whooshing over the log tapping my leg.
Nature notices!

You walk by me daily hustling through your life.
I could be on that bench beneath the tree.
I could be in that elevator escalating three floors.
Am I invisible because you do not know my name?
Am I invisible because you believe I am a stranger?
I notice your shoes, they match your shirt.
I notice your hair, wrapped up in that golden hair clip.
I notice you. Do you notice me?
I’m going back to nature where I am noticed.

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Wednesday, October 7, 2015, in art, creative writing, culture, life, poems, Poetry, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

