The Seed of Infidelity (Submitted to college for publishing)

(DISCLAIMER: This story is fiction, though names and places may seem familiar or real they are not, this is a fiction story I wrote a while back and this is the final draft of this short version which I submitted to The Paper Latern of my community college. The submission guidelines were that it had to be fiction, it had to be less than 2500 words, and it had to be suitable for adults not children. I came under the word limit at 2000. I will not find out if they are going to publish it until probably late October. I will post an update either way when I find out. I hope you enjoy this final short version. Please feel free to leave feedback.)

He came in from work late. It was the first time Thomas had ever been late coming home. Cassie was in the kitchen of their small one bedroom apartment warming up his plate. The meal wasn’t anything special. It was takeout that she had picked up for dinner. They have only been together for two years and they both worked jobs.

“You’re home later than usual tonight.” She said as she slid the plate across the counter to him as he sat down at the bar where they were forced to eat since a kitchen table wouldn’t fit properly in their tiny apartment.

“Yeah, Nate had some tire problem I helped him out with.” He said as he removed the plastic wrap from his plate.

This is how it started for the newlywed couple that eventually fell into secrecy, silence and misery. He ended up coming home late more nights with more excuses. She became more unsure of his excuses and insecure in the relationship. Many nights ended in arguments that left her crying on her pillow. Six months have passed.

“Why are you late tonight? Let me guess! Brad ran out of gas, and you needed to run him to the station, and then back to his car to fill it up? How is that for a fucking excuse tonight?” Cassie yelled as he entered the door two hours past the time he was meant to be home.

“Oh and if you expect dinner you can look in the trashcan for it because that is where it is!” she stormed by him going into the bedroom slamming the door.

He placed his coat on the rack. He glanced at the bedroom. He was tempted to go in there and try to make things better. Tonight however he didn’t give a damn what she thought. He walked into the kitchen to grab a bite to eat. He wasn’t in there for any more than five minutes and Cassie storms in.

“Just come out and tell me what whore you are fucking behind my back Thomas! Be a man! Don’t insult me this way. I’m not a moron. I smell the bitch on your shirts when I wash them. I just want you to be straight with me so we can move on however we should move on.” Tears were streaming from her eyes.

“I don’t know what else to say to you Cassie. I’m not with any other woman. You are just paranoid and this shit about smelling another woman is in your head! I am however getting tired of getting this type of treatment when I come home from you night after night.” He slammed the plate down on the counter and stormed off into the bathroom.

“Hey don’t walk away from me! I am not just going to go cry into my pillow again and just pretend nothing is going on. I won’t play stupid any longer. I want you to tell me the truth!” She yelled outside the bathroom door crying.

She thought to herself about what would she do if he actually did tell her the truth. She convinced herself that if he didn’t admit it then there was always that chance he wasn’t having an affair. That justified her staying. She needed to stay now she thought. How would she raise a baby by herself she thought.

Deep down she had hoped he’d deny it once more. She knew it was stupid. She knew she looked like a clown. What else could she do though she thought? She was going to have a baby in nine months to care for. Do that alone? She wasn’t so sure she could.

She slid down the door with her back to land softly seated on the carpet. “Thomas you need to be honest with me. All I ask is for some respect. Respect includes honesty….” She wiped her cheeks but the tears still fell from her eyes. She refused to tell him about the child she carried.
Suddenly you heard Pocket Full of Sunshine ringing from her cell phone.

“Hi mom, no, it’s OK, you didn’t interrupt anything here. Sure, I’ll be right over.” Closing her phone and placing it back in its holder she ran her hands through her hair.

She tilted her head back to rest it on the bathroom door. “I’m going over to moms. She needs me over there. You want to come with me?” she asked hoping he’d say no.

It was silent. She sat for a moment waiting for an answer but the silence lingered.

“Thomas! You could at least acknowledge me!” she yelled as she rose to her feet.

She attempted to open the door but it was locked. That was unusual she thought to herself as she attempted once more to open the door. Sweat began to break out on her skin between her breasts.

“Thomas! Open up in there! What are you hiding?” she said as she pounded the door demanding that he either answer or open the door. Still there was no sound. There was no flush from the toilet. The water wasn’t running. She began to panic.

She grabbed her cell phone from its holder and opened it frantically. She was trying anxiously to dial 911 with tears streaming from her eyes. The numbers were blurry.

“911 Operator, what’s the emergency?”

“Oh my God! My husband has locked himself in our bathroom and he won’t respond. I can’t get in. He’s been in there for almost an hour now.” Cassie said hysterically. “I need help! I can’t get in!” She screamed into the phone as she was trying to budge the door open with all her body weight. “Thomas! Answer me!”

“Ma’am I need you to stay calm and tell me what your location is.” The operator said sternly.

“213 Fraternity Lane. Send someone quick.” Her voice quivered.

“Ma’am I need you to stay on the phone with me until help arrives.”

“Oh my God….” Cassie’s voice was weakened and her mind raced with thoughts.

What has he done? I know what he’s done! What have you done Thomas? She slid down the door once more and rested her head on her knees with the phone to her right ear. Her other hand held her hair back out of her face.

Suddenly there was knocking at the door. “Whitewater Fire Department, someone call for help?”

She closed her cell phone and ran to the door to let them in. She pointed to the bathroom door as she explained what was going on, “My husband locked himself in there an hour ago. We were arguing and he went in and I can’t get in. He won’t answer” she was crying and shaking while she was telling the men the situation.

“Ma’am my name is Eddie let me take you down to the lobby while my two partners work to get your husband out of the bathroom.” The man took her gently by the arm. Eddie knew all too well what this call was going to end with. He knew it was best to get her to the lobby.

“I want to be here with my husband when they get in. I want to know what is going on.” She said defiantly to the gentleman.

“Ma’am we have communication open with our radios so you’ll know what is going on. It will be better for my partners if you are down in the lobby out of the way while they work.” He said still holding her arm.

She nodded and they went to the lobby. She pulled her cell phone out and called her mom. They had a very close relationship. Her mom was her best friend.

“Mom, I need you right now. Thomas locked himself in the bathroom and the firemen are here to get him out. I don’t know what he’s done mom. Please come…” she said in a low tone standing in the lobby looking at the floor.

She hadn’t told her mom about the baby yet. She planned to tell her soon before this all happened with Thomas.

Cassie was watching out the glass windows waiting to see her mom. Every minute felt like a lifetime to her standing there. She loved Thomas but was not in love with him anymore and now she was even more confused than she was before. Why would he do such a thing? She knew what he had done upstairs in that cold small bathroom. The relationship had problems but she wanted to figure out what to do about those problems with Thomas. She knew though that with what Thomas had done upstairs he had solved the problems on his own. He has created a new set of problems that Cassie would have to solve on her own.

Her mom was walking up the sidewalk towards the entrance. Cassie rushed to open the door for her. They embraced each other tight. An ambulance suddenly pulled up to the entrance and a group of EMT’s rushed past them. Cassie and her mom moved inside holding hands watched them go upstairs.

Her mom, Carla, glanced over to Cassie with a sorrowful look in her eyes. She tightened her grip holding her daughters’ hand.

“What exactly is going on here?” her mom asked as she took her other hand in hers and faced her.

Crying, Cassie tried to explain it to her, “Mom, Thomas and I were arguing again about my mistrust. I was demanding he tell me the truth about his affair because I know he’s cheating.” She sighed, “After I talked to you on the phone I told him I was coming to see you and that is when I realized he had locked himself in the bathroom. When I didn’t get any reply or heard no noise I called 911” She fell into her mother’s arms and whimpered like she had done so many times as a child.

The thing is she felt like a child. She wasn’t sure what to do about the baby and Thomas. She was scared on both accounts. She wanted her mom to make the decisions and solve the problems for her like she had done throughout her childhood years. She needed to find strength.

Carla pulled Cassie off her shoulder and pulled her chin up making eye contact.

“You need to see what is going on from the EMT’s. Get a hold of yourself now. Go upstairs and demand they tell you what is going on. I’ll stay right here I promise.” She kissed Cassie on the cheek and released her.

Cassie wiped her face and straightened her shirt out. She went upstairs to the apartment on the second floor. The apartment was crawling with firemen and ambulance workers. She saw Thomas lying on the bathroom floor with a couple EMT’s over top him. Obviously they were trying to revive him she thought. He had committed suicide. She felt her heart in her throat when a fireman gently grabbed her by the arm.

Turning to face him she said with an unyielding voice, “I want to know how my husband is! I have a right to know what is going on here in my home!” She pulled her arm out of his grip forcefully.

She took a few steps toward the bathroom and they covered Thomas with a white sheet and took him from the apartment. Cassie fell to her knees and screeched. She tilted her head to the ceiling holding her hands out.

“Oh God…” her face fell into her palms and she wept there on the floor of their small one bedroom apartment. She glanced over and noticed a note lying on the floor. She picked it up and began to read it to herself, “Cassie, I never wanted to hurt you but having a child with any other woman other than you isn’t something I can bare. I hope you can forgive me and find happiness you’ve always deserved. Love, Thomas.”

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Sunday, September 20, 2015, in creative fiction, creative writing, prose, publish submission, short story, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

