Satan At My Souls Door

firewalk

The devil knocks at your soul
What more can you do?
The lock is missing on the door
He invites himself in
Allowing you to hate yourself enough
That it makes you numb inside
Amazingly it silences your cry

As you steam over the hate
Steam over the hurt of past pains
He brings you down from grace
It’s so slow, the way he works, the pace
You never even notice he’s here
Looking over your shoulder as you write
Telling the world how lonesome you are
How much pain you have bottled up
How you want to even a score
He’s made you his own little whore

He’s become the puppet master
Changing you inside
Soon you’ll have no where to hide
Satan wants your soul
Where do you think you can go?
Heaven can’t hear your cry
Overwhelmed by all your sighs
You’re letting him win this game
It’s an evil you can’t begin to tame

He will eat up your love
Spit out your empathy
Grab at your soul
Laugh at the end of the show
Because your faith was weak

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Monday, August 3, 2009, in Poetry, prose, thoughts, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. “I Had Need”
    By Deborah Osborn Croke
    09/07/89

    Stronger than steel…no key to be found…
    I screamed in pain yet there was no sound.
    I lived in cycles of shame and of fear…
    I couldn’t let the people get near…
    Locked tight in battles of no results…
    I lived my life in constant tumult.
    Spinning the wheel with no yarn to weave…
    Creating a void for wounds that won’t bleed.
    I Had Need.

    Urge and desires were often unmet…
    Days were carried away in a mist…
    Years passed quickly yet they never ended.
    Though justice I sought…no one defended.
    Peace was elusive and dreams died away…
    I quit reaching and everything stayed…
    Just as it was and may always be…
    I Had Need

    Dawn must come to every life.
    One filled with joy, one with strife.
    Dark before dawn-clouds lined with silver.
    Peace flows in like a roaring river.
    The dam must break before water can flow.
    The river ran deep from out of my soul…
    Tears stained my pillow and streaked in a race.
    To carry the pain to some other place…
    I Had Need

Leave a Reply

