An update for my readers on the cancer & my own health

So I thought I’d write and give an update to my readers on my FNL and myself.

For myself I’ve had a tough time with muscle tenderness. I feel like I’ve been beaten badly all over. It hurts to sit, hell it hurts to move at all. I think the little yard work I did brought this fibromyalgia attack on. I’ve been feeling this way for 3 days now. The meds I have are not helping at all. I’ve been using heat wraps to ease it. I will survive this. It will pass. Now about my FNL…

He had his second chemotherapy session. It was worse then the first. It gave him bad diarrhea, and this time it had him throwing up. It drained him of most of his energy so he slept a lot afterwards. This lasted a few days or so.

Now he is back in the normal “denial” living as best he can. He’s having some remodeling done in his home so the small projects are keeping him occupied and his mind off the cancer I imagine. I imagine that is his goal. His goal is to not think about the cancer or the fact he’s dying soon at all.

We haven’t been able to get over there to visit again. We plan to go soon though I just hope there is time. Talking on the phone he sounds great! His spirits are high. His white blood cells are staying up so the chemotherapy hasn’t affected that yet and hopefully it won’t so he won’t have to skip any sessions. I love his strength facing such a devastating situation. I do think of him as a dad even though he is only a father by marriage. I’ve had ten years with him so far and they have been good years. We’ve never fought. He has always treated me great. He treats me like a daughter and always has. I am very sad over this but I try to hide it from my husband and daughters. They will need me to be the rock in this situation. Please pray for me to be able to do that. I haven’t been very good at being a rock for a while now.

I love all my readers and I wish you happiness, good health and safety. Until next time…

I will pray for you J
JO

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Monday, April 20, 2009, in family, Fibromyalgia, health, journal, Journal Pages, life, medical, personal, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have candles burning right now..and I mentioned you and yours.

    The human spirit is stronger than anything that can happen to it. ~C.C. Scott

    I have been through a lot too..from childhood on, and I truly believe this quote. I hope you will come to realize it too. I already see great strength in your energies.

    Try to pace yourself with your gardening…see it as meditation and time to just be one with the earth and nature. If you only get a little done so be it. Just breathe and let the sun enter into your body..and into your spirit for it is healing. If you can’t go out during the day..step outside into the moonlight and feel her light.

    I will continue to mention you, my dear.
    Healing energies and peace of heart to you and yours,

    ~gypsy-heart

    Ps Ask for the location of the book to be revealed to you and if it is what needs to be..you will find it. 🙂

  2. Awww JO I’m so sorry to hear about your step dad! Cancer is an awful thing to live with and something I’ve been around several times in my life. I have some not so good stories, but some good ones too. I want to tell you the good ones.

    One is a friend of mine’s mom… She had breast cancer, went through chemo, lost a breast… a lot of weight. but she recovered and is now in remission. Throughout her cancer, one thing was constant… Her spirit and sense of humour. She never lost that!

    The second one is my ex’s step dad… He got cancer and wasn’t able to eat anymore. He was on an IV, eating through a tube and looked to be dying. Miraculously he began recovering, and is now in remission. He turned towards spirituality during his illness.

    Here’s to many more than ten more years with him!

    xo

Leave a Reply

