Pancreatic cancer leaves weeks maybe months to live…

We went and visited my father n law. He doesn’t look good to me. I don’t know if it is because I know he is terminally ill with pancreatic cancer or if he really does look bad. Does that make any sense to any of you?

He has lost weight. He has lost a lot of weight if you ask me. His stomach is now looking extended and his pain isn’t easing. He was happy to see his grandbabies though and we all were happy to see him.

I spoke with him about hospice. I bought him some ensure and fresh fruits. He said he would talk to the doctor about hospice when it gets worse. I just wanted to make sure he’s taken care of and has little to no pain. I know from experience with my dad having cancer that they are great to have around.

I am trying to be strong for my oldest daughter and my husband. It is hard. I love my father n law very much. He has always treated me kind and accepted me from the very beginning without reservation. I could have been a psycho woman coming into his home when I got with his son but he accepted me immediately as family. I’ve always looked at him as my father in a way. We may have had minor disagreements through the years but who hasn’t? That doesn’t change the fact that it will hurt me very badly to lose him too. I worry for my husband…his dad is what my dad was to me. My dad has been gone for 13 years and I still have a void in my heart.

I’m not sure when we’re going back over there to stay. I’m guessing within a few weeks. The doctor told my father n law he had weeks maybe months. That is not exactly what I wanted to hear. I was hoping the doctor would have said months maybe a year…

Please continue to pray for my family in this time of great sorrow. Maybe there is a miracle waiting for us…

Until next time….
Be safe!

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Saturday, March 28, 2009, in Death, family, health, journal, Journal Pages, life, medical, medicine, personal, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

  2. sorry to hear that..

    I’ll pray for you…
    Hope you pass through this terrible stage safely…

    • Thanks Distrubed, you are ever so kind. Thank you for the prayer I’ll need it. I just hope my FNL doesn’t suffer with much pain at the end of this very sad and terrible journey he must take towards death.

  3. My thoughts are with you..and I will add you to my list when I light my candles.

    We lost several people in my family last year..and hospice nurses are Earth Angels!

    May your circle of love give all of you strength to help your dear Father-in-law go to the place just beyond.

    Peace of heart to you.

  4. My father was given the same diagnosis as your father-in-law. He has months to live the Dr’s say. He has lost a lot of weight, and is shaky and tired most of the day. But the cancer has not taken away his spirit and spunk, and I treasure everyday I have with him now.
    Cancer is devastating but can also be a gift of time to get what needs to be said, said. To have the time to enjoy the small things which are truely important and remember what isn’t.
    I am sure that your Husband will begin to realize all the gifts that his father gave him in his beliefs, cherished memories, and experiences of a lifetime. The hole is never filled, but the moments from today until the end are forever.

Leave a Reply

