The Seed Of Infidelity (Part Five)

Cassie put her things into the mahogany dresser against the wall. She stopped in the hallway just outside her bedroom door and placed her hand on her belly. Tears formed in her eyes as she started to walk towards the stairs.

Thomas will never know his child because of his selfish act. What had him feeling so helplessly lost to take his own life she thought as she walked downstairs to the table.

“Mom” Cassie paused, “Can we talk about Thomas and what has happened tonight?” she wiped the tears off her cheeks and took a seat at the table.

Cassie was staring at her reflection in the table while she waited for her mom to answer her question.

“I am here for you Cassie whenever you need me.” Her mom rested her hand on her shoulder looking down at her as Cassie gazed up into her eyes.

“Why do you think Thomas got so desperate mother? What would make him want to do something so extreme, selfish and permanent?”

“That is something we may never know dear. People never know what others think inside their minds unless they share it. Thomas was closed off so we may never have the answers you seek.” Her mother took a seat to Cassie’s left.

The house was silent as they sat at the table for a few moments pondering over the day’s events. Cassie lost in thought about Thomas and the baby she carried. Questions flooding her mind on what she was going to do. She needed to at least tell her mom.

“Mom…” she looked over at her mom with solemn eyes. “I’m pregnant.”

“That is wonderful news Cassie. Did Thomas get a chance to know?”

“No mom he didn’t. I’m not even sure I want to keep the child. How can I do this on my own? I didn’t tell Thomas because of the problems we were having. I knew he was with another woman even though he never came out and told me. I fell out of love with him and to have his baby is not something I’m sure I want to do mom…” she paused and placed her hand on her moms hand that rested on the dining table. “I really need some sound advice.”

“Well Cassie you just can’t erase something like this. You are carrying a life inside you. How could you live with yourself after you would allow someone to take the life away? You know the person you are inside, I know the person you are inside. You couldn’t live with it.” She squeezed Cassie’s hand. “I have raised a beautiful strong woman. There is no doubt in my mind that you could raise a wonderful child on your own, and who is to say you would do it all by yourself. You have me to lean on Cassie and you have friends to turn to in dark and troubling times.”

She stood and stepped over to Cassie’s side and lifted her up from the chair by her arm. Cassie stood and they hugged tightly for what seemed to be forever. Cassie whimpered on her mothers shoulder. Once again she felt like a child in her mothers arms.

The embrace broke. “Mom tomorrow I have to clean out the apartment. I think I want to do it alone. I think I need to do it alone.”

“I think someone should be with you Cassie.” Her mom had Cassie gripped by the arms firmly.

“No mom I want to do it myself. I’ll have my cell phone on and I’ll call if I need you. I promise. I want to go upstairs and go to bed now.” She pulled herself out of her mothers grip.

Cassie headed up the stairs looking solemn. Her mother stood and watched her with a stare of deep concern. She knew this would be something she needed to help Cassie through but wondered how she was going to be able to do it. She turned off the lights and headed upstairs herself off to bed.

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Sunday, July 13, 2008, in fiction, prose, Short Stories, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

