The Seed Of Infidelity Pt. 3

“Oh God why did you do this Thomas? What am I going to do now? Our child…our child…your child…” her face fell into her palms and she wept there on the floor of their small one bedroom apartment.

Carla was standing in the lobby as they walk past her with Thomas in a body bag. She watched them put him in the back of the ambulance and drive off. She knew she had to get upstairs to her daughter right away.

She crept into the apartment. The door was left open; she saw Cassandra knelt down on the floor weeping. She stood there a few steps behind her looking upon the apartment. She knew it wouldn’t be good for Cassie to stay there. She needed to come home with her.

Thomas fell in love with her when he first laid eyes on her in the small town bar. The way she sang into that microphone with passion. The way she smiled at the crowd that looked upon her. She alluringly swept him into her performance as if she were an angel singing a hymn from heaven. The next thing he knew he was on stage with her singing a duet and enjoying every second he had with her.

Thomas thought she was the most beautiful girl he had ever laid eyes on. She was tall and sleek. She had a sense of style that stood out in the crowd because she carried herself with such confidence. Her curly brown hair reached the middle of her back. He loved how it swayed as she danced around with each song she sang. Her green eyes sparkled with the lights shimmering below her on the stage. He wanted her. He had to have a way to reach her again after this night.

He watched her for the rest of the night. She showed such a fun side that he was determined to get her number at the end of the night. Bartender called for last calls. Thomas sent an amaretto sour over to her table. She looked around wondering where it came from and how anyone knew what she was drinking. The crowd started to disperse from the bar he knew he had to be out there before her. He waited outside by the entrance to the bar waiting for her to walk out. He had planned to bump into her clumsily and then ask for her number.

“Uh, I’m sorry about that. Are you OK?” He gently grabbed onto her arm so that she wouldn’t tumble over.

“Well, I guess I had one too many drinks tonight!” Giggling as she looked up into his eyes smiling.

“Well, can I walk you to your car?” Smiling back at her still holding her arm.

“Actually I, I, well sure what can it hurt?” she looked out to the parking lot down the ramp they stood on.

“It was real fun singing that song with you tonight. Never thought I’d ever do something like karaoke!” laughing, “my friends will never let me live this down.”

“Well it was fun for me too. I love doing karaoke. You don’t have to be good, BUT you do have to have a good time! Glad you had fun!” Pointing to a silver Capri that was just footsteps away. She started digging in her black leather purse for the keys.

“You sure you should drive?” he asked assuming she was looking for keys.

“Oh! I am not driving, no way! My girlfriend is my sober pal tonight. See her there standing by that silver Capri?” Pointing over to her friends shadow by the car.

“Oh well that is good to hear. You live around here?” he stopped and gently stopped her from walking onward too.

“Yeah I live, yeah I’m from around here. You?” she started to walk again.

“Hey girl! You were terrific tonight!” a sharp high pitch feminine voice yelled from the dark shadows by the car.

“Of course she is going to say that. What are friends for if not to let you humiliate yourself while they watch?” laughing she drops her purse and some of her makeup falls out. She attempts to save it and tumbles to the ground out of the gentle grasp of Thomas.

“Well I can say with seeing you down there on the ground it really is good she is here to drive you.” Smiling down at her reaching his hand out to help her up. She reaches for his hand and starts busting out laughing and it wasn’t long Thomas was laughing with her. He bent down and helped her to her feet.

“I would really love to know the name of the lady who actually got me onto a stage to do karaoke.”

“My name is Cassandra but my friends call me Cassie. Yours?” Now standing on the passenger side of the car.

“My name is Thomas and only my enemies call me Tom.” Smiling as he opens the door for her. “I would like to see you again, can I have your number?”

“I don’t see any harm in that.” She grabs a piece of paper from the console and writes her number out for him. “Here you go, now where is yours?” she held her number with her empty palm out waiting for his number to be given to her.

“OK write this down. 967-4532.” Holding his hand out to grab her number.

The ladies drive off from the parking lot, and he stands there smiling for a moment with the number in his pocket.

Thomas and Cassie dated for six months before he popped the question. Everyone around them said they were crazy. Everyone said they should wait a while longer. They knew that they loved each other and that was all that mattered then. No one was changing the minds of two young hearts that had such fun and passion together. So they were married with no real plan on the future.

“Cassie” her mom said softly as she placed her hand on Cassie’s shoulder.

“Why would he do this mom!” she shrieked as she wept into the palm of her hands. Her mom bent down and sat beside her daughter and pulled her into her arms.

“I don’t know Cassie. I don’t know.” She stroked her hair as she held her and rocked her as she wept in her arms.

“I’m going to take you home with me tonight. We’ll just get a night bag of some of your stuff and go.” She said as Cassie pulled her face out of her arms to look over to the bathroom.

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Thursday, April 17, 2008, in fiction, life, personal, prose, Short Stories, writing. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I truly felt the pain in this… it is a beautiful and sad story about the frailty of love and loss…

  2. Thank you enreal. I’m glad to see someone is reading along with the parts I’m adding. I am currently working on the next part to post here soon I hope. I am aiming to get it up over the weekend and I hope you enjoy the next part of the story. The twists that will come out will shock you and anyone else who has read along. I promise!

    JO

Leave a Reply

