The Seed Of Infidelity Part Two

“Mom! I need you right now. Thomas locked himself in the bathroom and the firemen are here to get him out. I don’t know what he’s done mom. Please come…” she said in a low tone standing in the lobby looking at the floor.


Her mother was her best friend. She shared everything with her. She hadn’t told her about the baby yet. She planned to tell her soon before this all happened with Thomas. Now she wasn’t sure if it was the right time.

Cassandra was watching out the glass windows waiting to see her mom. Every minute felt like a lifetime to her standing there. She loved Thomas but was not in love with him anymore and now she even more confused then she was before. Why would he do such a thing? She knew what he had done upstairs in that cold small bathroom. The relationship had problems but she wanted to figure out what to do about those problems with Thomas. She knew though that with what Thomas had done upstairs he had solved the problems on his own. He has created a new set of problems that Cassie would have to solve on her own.

Her mom was walking up the sidewalk towards the entrance. Cassandra rushed to open the door for her. They embraced each other tight. An ambulance suddenly pulled up to the entrance and a group of EMT’s rushed past them. Cassandra and her mom moved inside holding hands watched them go upstairs.

Her mom, Carla, glanced over to Cassandra with a sorrowful look in her eyes. She tightened her grip holding her daughters’ hand.

“What exactly is going on here Cassandra?” her mom asked as she took her other hand in hers and faced her.

Crying, Cassandra tried to explain it to her, “Mom, Thomas and I were arguing again about my doubts. I was demanding he tell me the truth about his affair because I know he cheating.” She took a breath and then sighed, “After I talked to you on the phone I told him I was coming to see you and that is when I realized he had locked himself in the bathroom. When I didn’t get any reply or heard no noise I called 911” She fell into her mother’s arms and whimpered like she had done so many times as a child.

The thing is she felt like a child. She wasn’t sure what to do about the baby and Thomas. She was scared on both accounts. She wanted her mom to make the decisions and solve the problems for her like she had done through her childhood years. It doesn’t work that way now though for her and she knows that. She needed to find strength from somewhere but where was the question.

Carla pulled Cassie off her shoulder and pulled her chin up so they made eye contact.

“You need to see what is going on from the EMT’s. Get a hold of yourself now. Go upstairs and demand they tell you what is going on. I’ll stay right here I promise.” She kissed Cassie on the cheek and released her.

Cassie wiped her face and straightened her shirt out. She went upstairs to the apartment on the second floor. Her apartment was crawling with firemen and ambulance workers. She saw Thomas lying on the bathroom floor with a couple EMT’s overtop him. Obviously they were trying to revive him she thought. She knew what he had done in that room. She knew he had committed suicide. She felt her heart in her throat when a fireman gently grabbed her by the arm.

“Ma’am it is best if you go back downstairs.”

Turning to face him she said with an unyielding voice, “I want to know how my husband is! I have a right to know what is going on here in my home!” She pulled her arm out of his grip forcefully.

She took a few steps toward the bathroom and they covered Thomas with a white sheet. Even though before they covered him she knew what he had done it had not sunk in. It was force to be accepted as a reality when the white sheet covered his whole body. Cassie fell to her knees and screeched. She tilter her head to the ceiling holding her hands out.

“Oh God why did you do this Thomas? What am I going to do now? Our child…our child…your child…” her face fell into her palms and she wept there on the floor of their small one bedroom apartment.

to be continued…

(I want to say thank you to all those who have commented before and I couldn’t get around to comment back. It is always appreciated! I don’t know how long this will be or where it will go. Stick around for the ride. It may turn out to be my next novel! LOL Who the hell knows with me? I hope you enjoy it so far. Feel free to give me some criticism. – JO)

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Tuesday, April 8, 2008, in fiction, life, prose, Short Stories, writing. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Very moving JO… I read part one and two… intense… waiting for part three… This inspiration… all your inspiration… I wonder…

  2. I am glad you have enjoyed the first two parts. I hope you enjoy the rest of it…I just don’t know how long this will end up! LOL It happens to me sometimes and I just go with the flow. Who knows perhaps this will become something bigger then just a short story….stay tuned to find out 😉

Leave a Reply

