18 days not smoking, cymbalta, and Merry Christmas

I have not broken down on the smoking! That itself is a miracle. It has been 18 days! It hasn’t been too bad. I have had a few bad days of cravings. Today was a bad morning. I felt pretty good this morning so I decided to stay up and do some laundry and bake my rosemary bread for the chicken wild rice soup I am making for dinner and once I started doing the little bit of work I wanted to smoke bad! I was drinking coffee so I stopped drinking it at the time. Coffee seems to make my cravings worse. At any rate, I did not break down and go buy cigarettes! I have survived thus far and I am proud!

I haven’t noticed any significant changes toward the positive with my health however. That takes a little more time to see improvement in any area. My success so far is what I said I was going to do this time around, remember those close to me how they suffered through cancer and died, and to think of my two girls and being around longer for them.

You know I was prescribed Cymbalta for depression and it works great on my mood. I also read that it is suppose to help with pain? What a crock of shit! It hasn’t help one iota where my pain is concerned. I seen the commercial today and had to roll my eyes. It says, “Depression hurts….” Blah Blah Blah. I don’t believe that for one moment that depression brings you physical pain. Some will of course believe it because well they’ve been conditioned to believe it and they want that pill. Sorry, I don’t buy that crap. Now I do believe that pain, especially chronic pain, will cause severe depression if there is no remedy or relief. I’m living proof of that scenario. I guess the makers of that cymbalta want a larger group to hand out to so that they can make loads more money. That is just my take on that subject.

Well, I am waiting for a final box to get to my house. I hope it comes today! It is a gift for my girls. They don’t have much from mom and dad under the tree this year for a few reasons. First reason is I refused to buy foreign made toys and goods, especially from china. The reason for that decision was our economy internally and the safety of the toys. Second reason they don’t have much under the tree is I refused to pay the prices of some of the things out there. Who in the world is going to pay $50.00 for a doll? You might, but I refuse to. The final reason the girls don’t have much under the tree this year is financially we are burdened more and I want them to know what Christmas is REALLY about. I don’t want to think every year it is about the toys and gifts like the television wants to program them to believe.

When I first got with my husband, and we had our oldest girl I wanted to have my own traditions put into his and my family traditions we’d carry on from our folks. It took me until last year to finally come up with one to continue every year. I don’t mean traditions from my family or his I mean MY OWN tradition. I am so happy about it too. Last year my oldest daughter (Who was the only one at the time.) and I got out my craft boxes and created an ornament for her dad. I thought it would be great to continue year after year.

This year we created a trinket box. She painted it and picked out the phrase Dad Your Awesome for me to paint onto it. We had a great time making it and I think my husband will love it just like he loved the ornament last year. Good thing he doesn’t read this BLOG. (LOL)

Today is a good day. My daughter will be home from school soon so I am going to go. I also have to do some preparations for my chicken wild rice soup. Everyone have a very wonderful holiday!

Until next time…
World peace isn’t likely but I will continue to pray for it.

JO

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Thursday, December 20, 2007, in Christmas, depression, faith, family, Fibromyalgia, health, journal, Journal Pages, life. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. from my family to yours…MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!

  2. JO wishing you and your beautiful family a genuine magical heartwarming Christmas filled with true meaning. I love your traditions!

    I am on Effexor by the way… It’s been good for my moods too, a little too good at times. My normal freak out episodes don’t happen anymore, but sometimes I should be freaking out and I’m not. I’m just “meh, whatever… I’m sure it’ll all work itself out in the wash”. Not sure if that’s good either. It’s too early to tell… Still trying to figure it all out.

    Love Ya Sister!

  3. hey how’s everything. i do hope your ok. happy new year!

Leave a Reply

