Drunk Driver Plows Home of Family Friend and Kills Her

My aunt calls me last night to inform me of an accident that had happened Thursday evening. A close family friend was on her couch resting when a drunk driver plowed into her home killing her instantly. Her name was Lucy Taylor.

Lucy

She was a really good woman. She ran a local diner there in my hometown and fed people who couldn’t afford to eat. I’ve known her since I was a little girl. It was Lucy who got me my first job at 16. We cleaned hotels together and even though the job sucked she made it fun. Lucy and Gary were good friends of my dads too. They played cards together from time to time. I am so sorry for Gary and his family. I wish there was something I could do for them.

I am ashamed I knew the guy who killed her. Yep he was a guy I went to school with. His name was Mike Baker.

bilde.jpg

He wasn’t anything special. He started doing drugs and drinking in our high school days and it continued onto adulthood as his criminal record shows. This morning I read the paper online and have course it said he plead innocent. He gave some bullshit story about his truck being stuck that he couldn’t stop it. WHAT A LOAD OF SHIT! He hit her house going 60 mph, drunk and high on drugs. What a low life scumbag to try to put blame on the vehicle. Heaven forbid anyone take responsibility for things they’ve done. He was driving an SUV, Ford Explorer to be exact. He didn’t even have a DL because they took it from him for driving drunk in previous situations.

I want to know how anyone can defend an asshole like this? How can anyone make up excuses for his actions and behavior? I don’t feel sorry for his ass one bit. I am furious that he will only get a maximum of 8 years in prison. Yeah, 8 YEARS! In 8 years he’ll have a chance to start over, or repeat what he’s done, yet Gary and his family will forever have a void of loss with Lucy being gone until the day they die. How the hell is that fucking fair?

A big part of me wishes I were back home today so that I could hug Gary and his family and try to give them some sort of comfort even though I know there is none to give. Who the hell would have thought that a drunk would plow through your home? Home is supposed to be a safe haven…I am very down about this. I don’t even feel like taking a shower. I am rather disturbed that she is gone and that she went in this way. I just can’t wrap my head around it. WTF

You know he was going so fast that the SUV ended up on the back porch. This ignorant son of a bitch didn’t get hurt either. How can that be I think to myself? You drive 60 mph through an entire house and you don’t get hurt? What a lucky bastard he is. The passenger that was with him, the Cushing kid, as I call him was released. He wasn’t charged with anything. I would like to know why? Why is he not an accessory to the fact? He knew how fucked up they were when they got into the vehicle. He allowed Mike to drive in that condition. I wonder if Cushing will be the next one to kill an innocent person while he drives drunk? Or even better I wonder if Cushing will allow the next “friend” of his drive under the influence to kill the next innocent?

Lucy was going to have a birthday on Christmas Eve. Boy what a shitty holiday season this will be for her husband Gary, the family and the friends. My heart aches for them.

Who would have ever imagined something like this?

My prayers are with Gary and his family. Lucy will be missed a great deal and always remembered.

deathleaves.jpg

I hope Mike gets the maximum they can give him.

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Monday, December 10, 2007, in Christmas, Death, drunk driving, family, health, journal, Journal Pages, life, News. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Rachie, I am so sorry tohear about your friend, and I also have strong feeling about drunk drivers.

    My heart goes out to her husband, and too you also for the lose of your freind. I wanted to talk to you lastnight in pl6, but you know how those people can get.

    Hold your head up kid, and let your faith get you through this. I know you and you are strong.
    ABA

  2. Thank you Aba for your kind words. You are a kind man.

    I am relying on my faith to help Gary and his family at this time. I’ll be alright. I’ll hurt for a while and miss her, but it is nothing compared to what Gary, Randy, Vicky and the rest will feel for the rest of their lives. I just can’t believe this has happened still…it is like a bad nightmare.

  3. hey hun i am so sorry i think that they should both be punished cuz thats just wrong!

  4. That was my aunt!! I miss her soooo much!!!

  5. She is my aunt

Leave a Reply

