My Fibromyalgia

Not every case of FMS is the same. Some people have a mild case of fibromyalgia. Some people have an extreme case of fibromyalgia. I, unfortunately teeter towards the severe end of the bar. I believe my case is so severe because I can’t do the physical things needed to help functionality with fibromyalgia. My other medical problem hinders me in many ways where exercise techniques would be helpful for my fibromyalgia.

I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia earlier this year. Many doctors believe that fibromyalgia is linked to a trauma suffered to the body or an underlying illness. There are many people who have fibromyalgia that have had a trauma to their body, or have an underlying illness. Lupus is one illness that closely attaches itself to fibromyalgia. Many people who have been diagnosed with Lupus do indeed have fibromyalgia as well.

It was hard for me to accept my diagnosis for a few reasons. I had not heard of fibromyalgia before. There was no concrete evidence like blood work to show I had the illness. My symptoms were so bad I had made up my mind that it had to be something very serious wrong with me that was life threatening. Eventually I understood the illness fibromyalgia more, and more with educating myself about it. I moved further to help bring awareness about fibromyalgia to those who were like me in the beginning. Many people out there still have no idea what fibromyalgia is, or what it does to a person. Bringing awareness about it is still a long road to travel. With the help of the Internet and local groups that support fibromyalgia we will eventually be recognized by more and more.

Unfortunately we still have medical doctors who do not believe that fibromyalgia exists or that it is a proper diagnosis. If at anytime you visit a doctor who doesn’t believe your symptoms exist find a new doctor. If at anytime your doctor makes you feel belittled or that you are mentally unstable over your symptoms, FIND A NEW DOCTOR! A good professional doctor will listen to your complaints of symptoms and know that fibromyalgia does exist and you might have a case of it.

Don’t try to diagnose yourself by research alone. Fibromyalgia symptoms mimic a lot of symptoms from the autoimmune disease family so you must be seen by a medical professional to rule out those illnesses before you start to treat yourself for fibromyalgia. Most importantly is to be your own advocate where your health is concerned. Ask lots of questions, research the doctor you see, keep a journal of your symptoms and the severity of them, work with your doctor to come to a proper diagnosis, and remember you have the power to refuse and accept the treatment you think is best for you.

My symptoms of fibromyalgia might not match everyone else’s FMS problems. This is one reason it is hard to diagnose and treat. I suffer from….

1. IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome)
2. Insomnia and waking a number of times through the night
3. Widespread pain from the neck to my feet
4. Dry eyes
5. Chronic sinus problems and allergies
6. Depression
7. Stiffness
8. Major fatigue
9. Nasal sores
10. Memory problems- cognitive thinking problems- known as fibro fog
11. Migraines
12. Burning in the muscles of my shoulders and arms

Now I also have hair loss but that has not been linked to fibromyalgia. Doctors have ruled out the hair loss being from medicine, vitamin deficiency, psoriasis, balding, or alopecia, which is an autoimmune disease. I have had a problem with iron in the past and that was thought to be the reason for the hair loss. When we remedied the iron deficiency problem my hair still fell out and continues to fall out now. They have ruled out thyroid problems too. The search continues for the hair loss and who knows maybe it will be linked to fibromyalgia in the future.

If you are suffering from fibromyalgia please utilize the links I have in my sidebar for support and information. You are not alone and you really are sick even if you don’t look sick. If you don’t suffer from fibromyalgia you can also utilize the links on the sidebar to educate yourself about the illness and help spread awareness about it to your local communities. Who knows? You might have someone close to you that has it, but you don’t know they have it.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you help spread awareness about the illness.

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Sunday, December 9, 2007, in depression, fibro fog, Fibromyalgia, health, News. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. 27 + years since DX tho is believed I had it as a child.
    Your list is lengthy, mine is even longer.
    I wish you well, let me know if I can help you.I can warn you about lots of stuff I wish I’d been informed about.

    Cindy

  2. Hello..First of all i find your blog much more then ordinary!!Im Joanna and I have fibro too..actually a severe case of fm..physically its aconstant pain and psychologically its a burden..So I started writing..I cant keep it in..Pass by if you like and I hope to stay in touch..

  3. I believe fibro is linked to hair loss. I was diagnosed with fibro in 2005, but my hair had already begun to fall out before the diagnosis. My hair loss has not stopped and no matter what I do, it will not completely stop. I may go for a couple of months and notice significantly reduced amount of hair loss and out of nowhere it will begin to fall out at a much faster rate.

  4. My daughter has alopecia areata. She has had bald spots for over a year. She was recently diagnosed with fibromyalgia. She began feeling ill two years ago with extreme rebound migraines. The migraines are better. Fibro is a soft tissue arthritis and I believe it is auto immune. I have Rheumatoid, my oldest daughter has Rheumatoid also. In our case, I think it is genetic.

  5. I was diagnosed with alopecia last summer. I am a healthy fit 26 year old woman.
    I have always had sensitive skin especially the past few years. It has become so panful to even touch it lately. It is mostly around my butt, upper things and Lowe back but sometime my whole body feels like this. I never looked into it until two days ago. Obese shocked that this was kist likely a symptom of fibromyalgea. Here are other symptoms I have that I never put together or linked to a possibly serious illness or disease.

    1. Migraines- sometimes lasting several hours, but not often
    2. Depression depression depression. This one is the worst side effect because it is confusing. I dint knowcehy I feel depressed but I do.
    3. Awful memory, especially shirt term. I’m starting to think this is actually “fiibro fog.”
    4. Obviously, body aches sensitive skin and painful areas
    I am a little worried but haven’t gone to a doc yet. It would bring great comfort to me if any of this could be clarified or explained to me. also if there is a possible link to alopecia and fibromyalgea.

  6. omg, you just described me. I am taking savella due to hip pain so severe I couldn’t hardly walk. It helps but it doesn’t go completely away. Short term memory problems. etc, etc. …

Leave a Reply

