Dementia!? Alzheimer’s disease!? No…just Fibro Fog

So there I was on the phone with the secretary to make a doctor’s appointment. She asked me when my birthday was. I couldn’t recall my birthday at first and I panicked. She asked again as she probably thought I didn’t hear her the first time. I did hear her the first time though I was just trying my hardest to remember. It didn’t come to me on its own. I had to look into my purse quickly at my DL and tell her. I got the appointment made fighting back tears before hanging up.

I was terrified of what had just happened. I am only 29 years old. How can someone forget the day they are born on at my age? What the hell is going on with my brain and mind? I asked myself as I sat in the rocking recliner crying into the palms of my hands.

This was the first sign of fibro fog. Fibro fog is a cognitive disorder that is associated with FMS (Fibromyalgia) I didn’t know this until this sort of thing started happening to me more often. My first thoughts were of dementia, or Alzheimer’s disease. I was scared to death of what was happening.

There were times I couldn’t remember the year my daughters were born in and it would take some time for it to register at others. There were a few times I felt disoriented while out in the car. What finally made me start digging around for information and asking questions I had been scared to ask before was the time I had decided to go out by myself to buy a coffee. ((I don’t drive far due to the tumor in my back but I do get out once in a while to keep myself from going crazy!))

Anyway, I was out to get a Caribou coffee, which is my favorite. Starbucks has nothing on Caribou. Caribou isn’t far from my home so it is feasible for me to drive myself sometimes. While I was on my way back to the house I felt a sudden case of anxiety and bewilderment. I had no clue where the hell I was or how to get back home. I came to a stop sign trying to put together the scenery but nothing was seemingly helping. I made a right hand turn and decided to pull off the road to try to calm myself down. I knew I was not lost, I knew I had just come from the house for the coffee, and I knew home wasn’t far. It was crazy I couldn’t think how to get back home and I knew this must be something caused by stress I thought as I just stayed on the side of the road. I found a music station that would help me focus in order to keep some of the anxiety at bay. I was hoping to gain my memory back quickly before someone stopped to ask questions.

In a few short moments the anxiety and bewilderment subsided. I was in shock at what had just happened. This is what broke the straw on the camels back for me. When I came home I started looking up things about dementia, and Alzheimer’s disease and found that I wasn’t having that at all most likely. I had just been diagnosed with FMS recently. I thought I would check out if that was something associated with FMS. Sure enough it was something very common with FMS sufferers. It is called Fibro fog.

Each person has a different level of fibro fog I had found out. That day driving was my worse level. I still have a lot to learn about the fibro fog and how to help keep it at bay but like I always say one symptom at a time! I have not had a severe fibro fog attack in about a week. I do however still have very short snips of forgetting my phone number, pin numbers, the current date or current year. The episodes only last about a minute or so and sometimes last less than that. Sometimes I forget words I want to use. I sometimes mix things up when I speak too. You can imagine how scary this is to go through. If you suffer from Fibro Fog I suggest reading this article. It does have some helpful hints and explanations.

Until next time…

fibroreal.jpg

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Friday, November 16, 2007, in depression, fibro fog, Fibromyalgia, health, journal, Journal Pages, life. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. You have such great resources in your sidebar. I’m wondering if you’ve ever visited “But You Don’t Look Sick”?
    Great site!

  2. Thank you psychscribe. I am glad you find my sidebar useful! I love keeping this page here at Word Press. I am not sure if I have visited that site but I am going to after this reply to you. Thank you for the heads up on it.

    J.O

  3. I have aso put a link to your site in my blogroll 🙂
    By the way, I”m new to blogs and I”m learning.. Would you know that I had linked to you if I didn’t write and tell you?

  4. Thanks for sharing that article. Fibro Fog is so disconcerting! I have had whole conversations and left without remembering any of it. Like you, I mix up words too. I open a book where I had left off just to go back and reread the previous chapter so it will make sense. I have found a great doctor that has really help me with my fibro pain, but I still get that “who spiked my drink?” feeling from time to time. I am not sure what triggers it for me but I carry a notebook to record information and I notice that my handwriting is at its worst when I am in a fog.

  5. psychribe- no I had no idea you linked to me…thank you for posting the comment to let me know 🙂 Blogging has been very invigorating for me on many levels. You will learn as you go along so don’t sweat to much.

  6. Wizus- Glad you stopped by to visit and I hope you come again and refer this page to your friends.

    I still have not figured out what triggers the fibro fog either.

  7. oh pychribe- if you go under blog stats it will tell you where your traffic comes from so eventually I probably would have figured out you linked me.

  8. you know what ? i also experience that same kind of feeling. not being able to remember and end up in confusion. but well, things happen. all we have to do is fight! 😉

    i do hope your ok now.

  9. my sister’s got fms.and she keeps on having fibro fogs. but once we went for a trip with the family and my sister was holding her daughter in her arms and talking to our uncle (no one else was near her)and then after that very short conversation she suddenly found that her daughter was not with her.she searched for her all around and then a few minutes later our aunt said she’s in the bus.she doesn’t know what happened at all.she was really shocked and concluded that she was starting to have alzheimer’s. do you think that this is a symptom of fms ?

  10. My sister has Fibro Fog! I have tried to explain it to my mom and other sister. They keep thinking she has dementia or altzheimers. She has had fibromyalgia since 1992. She has chronic fatigue and Sleep apnea. They are making me so stressed I don’t want to go around them. Help. What can I say to them. They are going to stress her out more.

Leave a Reply

