Fibromyalgia and Depression

The day was gloomy. I could tell before I even opened the blinds in my room. I didn’t want to get out of bed today. I felt exhausted still even after sleeping nine hours. I loved being under those warm blankets on days like today. I wanted to crawl back under them before my feet even hit the floor. Today would be a day that the Fibromyalgia, and the depression controlled my life. You would think it wouldn’t be such a big deal. You would think, by now, I would be use to these sorts of days.

So, there I was sitting on the side of my bed in my pajamas. I had the palm of my hands on each knee sitting, trying not to break down into tears. I fought to get myself off the bed. I have two small children I have to take care of so staying in bed wasn’t a choice.

The baby ate and the oldest was still sleeping so I was hoping to catch a morning nap on the couch as the little one slept. The baby always takes a morning nap after she eats. On the weekends though I have to worry about my oldest being in bed still in order to get my morning nap. Today I was lucky I got a short morning nap.

Fast forward to the afternoon now.

I finally realized around one o’clock in the afternoon that I had better change out of my pajamas! So I forced myself back to the bedroom. It was a long walk back there today. I couldn’t wait to get dressed and get back on the couch. After I got dressed I thought that maybe a nice bowl of hot soup would help fight off the blues, and the fibromyalgia problems.

Yep, that is what I had for lunch, a nice hot bowl of grilled chicken soup. It didn’t help with the blues or the fibro. Yet again I found myself lying on the couch under a blanket fighting off chills, fighting off tears from the depression, and trying to conceal the pain I felt in my back from the tumor.

The depression I can get under control. I had to stop taking my cymbalta for a few days and now I am feeling the results of that. The fibro, when it is this bad, I am not sure what there is I can do. I just don’t have the energy to do heat therapy. Hell, I’m lucky to get out of bed on days like today!!

I have so much writing to catch up on it isn’t funny! I am behind on a horror story I started. I have stories to write on my fantasy fiction characters. I also have to finish my children’s book I have started. Someone send me some feel good days!

Well life was hard for me today, and hopefully tomorrow it will be better. Living with FMS, chronic pain because of my tumor and depression is not a whole lot of fun!

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Saturday, November 10, 2007, in depression, Fibromyalgia, health, journal, Journal Pages, life. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Most people with chronic pain find that it does affect their mood. However, there are some exciting advances for fibromyalgia. If antidepressants are not working for you, the FDA approved Lyrica for the treatment of fibromyalgia back in June. This medication helps a lot with the quality of sleep, as well as anxiety and pain. Patient education, mild exercise and stretching, relaxation and meditation techniques can also help tremendously. Learning these skills can improve your outlook on life and your ability to be a productive member of your family and society.

    http://www.fibroinfoservice.com

  2. depression also strikes me. and like you i need to fight it out because i have a daugther waiting for my care.

    but to help me fight my depression, i eat lots of chocolates 😉 and then when i gain weight i would get depressed again 😉

    i do hope your depression does not stay long.

    hugs and prayer,
    milet

  3. Thank you Milet and I too hope your battle with depression is won. Glad you stopped by to visit.

  4. Sharon thank you for your comment. I have just been put on Cymbalta for the FMS depression but I do however need some sleep help so I may ask about this Lyrica.

    I know the exercise techniques and stretching stuff however I have another medical condition that prevents me from being able to do those things. I have been doing heat therapy and it has helped some, although I find myself still having really tough days still. I am newly diagnosed so I am sure eventually soon my GP will help me find some sort of relief for all my symptoms.

    One symptom at a time as I say! Depression taken care of. Heat therapy helps with the aches and burning. Sleep is the next symptom I need help with. IBS with constipation will be the other…lol…what will be next I ask myself? DO I REALLY WANT TO KNOW???!?

    Thanks for stopping by and I’ve taken it upon myself to add your link to my blogroll. Thank you!

  5. Whoa… So strange… I just wrote about depression!! Some definite parallels. I understand the lows… Believe me. It’s not a nice place to be in. They always say that exercise is good for depression… but depressed people usually don’t have the energy to get out of bed, let alone go to the gym!

    Hopefully you have some good ears around you that you can count on! Good friends, family, and creative outlets. That helps.

  6. Thanks Lingo appreciate it. I do have a great family around me and I do have wordpress to fall down on if needed 🙂 Hope all is well with you.

Leave a Reply

