Heat Therapy & Writing Children’s Books

Well I have had a few good days. Needless to say my good days are not as good as I would like them to be but they are tolerable. I have been forcing myself to be as active as I can be given the situation I have with the tumor leaving me unable to do so many things I should be doing in order to keep me healthier.

I did one night of the deep heat therapy that I posted about a few days ago and boy that really helped me out. I will definitely do the tub thing again. I have a neck wrap I use also that helps relieve some of that burning aching I get in the neck and shoulder area too. My body is always on high alert due to the tumor attached to the nerve in my back so relaxing my muscles and nerves is a great challenge for me. I hope it gets easier on this road I plan on traveling.

As some of my readers know I am a fiction writer that also writes poetry. I have put up some of my rough work here. I have decided to attempt to write a children’s book series. I have my characters. I have the problems they all will face. I have the solutions to those problems. What I don’t have is the mentality of a six year old, which will be my targeted readers.

I sat down the other day and only got a paragraph and a half done and I couldn’t finish it for the life of me. I knew what I wanted it to say, I knew how I wanted it to end, and I just could not find the words that would have not exceeded a six year olds mind. It is harder then I thought it would be. I mean you read the books and they are simple. They are short. You think, “Well I can do that! No sweat! I have written novels before. Writing children’s books will be a simple task!”

(LOL)Let me tell you it has not been that way for me. For some reason I am having a hard time grasping it. It makes me feel so foolish too and discouraged because of what I have written in the past that has been very successful and satisfying. I am not giving up however! I have thought about taking a refresh course in writing for children. I had taken a course about six years ago when my oldest was just a baby but never moved forward at that time in writing children’s books. I feel now is the time for that.

This is a new chapter in my life. I have overcome many types of abuse. I have married a wonderful loving man. I have two wonderful children I’ve been blessed with. It is time to live in a happy world a little more then the fiction world of all the crap I’ve had to live. Not that I will quit writing my other stuff, absolutely not! Write what you know! That is the key. That will still take majority of my time of course, but I want to add some rainbow to my writing for once. I want something my daughters can read and look back at and say my mom wasn’t completely scorned….she did have some happiness in there somewhere. Because I do you know…I do have that happiness in me it is just so buried and hard to find.

I think it is time to get the shovel and start digging that out.

Until next time…
cantbrain.jpg

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Friday, November 2, 2007, in Fibromyalgia, health, journal, Journal Pages, writing. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Pingback: Boink Blogs

Leave a Reply

