Why is it so hard to be a good Christian?

I have been thinking about this for a while now. Why is it so easy for me to fly off the handle with no patience at all instead of taking a deep breath in the moment? Why is it so easy to say God damn something instead of holding my tongue? I am going to be honest here…

I am a terrible Christian! I sometimes fall asleep before I pray. I get angry more then I should. I use God’s name in vain and that shouldn’t happen either. I lack patience at times with my daughter- I forget she is only six years old. I take things into my temple that harm me…I smoke still! I drink too much coffee. It is so much easier to sin then to be the right kind of Christian. I have wondered for a long time now, why is that?

Some people don’t believe in God and that is the choice they have been given. I am a very loyal follower of God. I know he exists and I am not going to get into a debate here about that. Respect my belief and bite your tongue if you feel tempted to leave a rude message.

I would love an answer to my question though. Why is it so hard to be a Christian? What can a person do to help them be a better Christian?

This is all I have to write about right now. I will try to post up something in a few days. Have a good one.

Until next time…

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Sunday, September 16, 2007, in journal, Journal Pages, life, Religion. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I love your self-honesty. Just wrote the first of 3 posts about this here:

    http://kburchard.wordpress.com/2008/06/14/its-hard-to-be-a-christian/

    God bless you on your journey. Leave me a comment if you have time.

    Kenny

  2. Thanks Kenny for stopping by and leaving a comment and I read the link- loved it. I appreciate all my readers here at JO 🙂 Hope you stop by again.

  3. hi im doing a essay on that piont. Maybe its because in the olden times it was a way of LIFE not a choice. We know we dont have to be a true christian because there is no one to force us like there was back then 🙂 i hope that helps x

  4. It’s not just you, we’re all broken in some way and all in need of grace. The spirit is willing but the flesh is weak type thing.
    But I know what you mean, slaying dragons seems impossible no matter how hard you try. It’s a journey and sounds like you have begun, ask for forgiveness and probably it will be everyday for the samething everyday, and forgive yourself. None of us are ever going to get to the Father by being good enough, so instead of focusing on only that, (we still need to try) just hold out your empty hands and accept his gift,his love which is so immense it fills in the gaps in or imperfect nature. Hope this helps, God Bless

  5. BIC (Brother in Christ)

    JustOrdinary,

    Every so often I find that being a good Christian is more difficult than other times. I am often reminded that God doesn’t want your good behavior, He just wants everything. He wants you to lean on Him, and put Him first. He wants to know that your love for Him is greater then your love for self. We get mad because we don’t get our own way. Your daughter did this a lot growing up. Overtime they learn some self control but in a microwave society we often get what we want, when we want it.
    To answer the question, its easier because our flesh is the fighting grounds that the devil has waged war against. As long as the devil can let you think that you aren’t good enough to belong to God, he wins. But when we love God with everything (even more then our hurts and anger) we find that our feelings are lower factor then our obedience to God.
    While we may not be perfect all the time, we can seek the Lord all the time. We may fail, but we dust off our clothes and go right back to seeking Him.

  6. Hi Just Ordinary,
    I totally hear you. So often I feel unworthy of even saying that I am a child of God. Yep, I have a smoke now and then, I get angry at the mere frustration of life, and I stopped going to church. Who am I to be numbered among God’s chosen few?
    You know what? This present world is SO hard to live in. Sometimes I lose the plot over something that pushes my limits at a given moment, it’s tough. The guilt is a killer, which actually proves there’s something good in me. I know the bible says that anger resides in the heart of a fool, but that doesn’t change me automatically, i gotta work on it, which goes against my sin nature, which means it’s a fight till I die.
    And sometimes, to curb my frustration, I have a cigarette. As a dad, the guilt of that kills me too. I know it’s not good, and I will quit soon. But is it hard? Of course it is. As stupid as we all know it is, why do we turn to the thing that is killing us? We just do, for temporary relief from this often mundane reality. My body is meant to be getting cleansed as a temple. But I’ll get there.
    And on leaving church? After much personal bible study, I now disagree with speaking in tongues, interpretations, learning to hear the voice of God etc. It causes division, confusion and discouragement for those who don’t do it. I brought it up with the church leaders but it wasn’t to go down well. Everything changed, the hugs, the hearty handshakes and the contact. So be it, I withdrew to go on a journey of finding out truth for myself, and the bible contains everything we need for the christian life. We don’t need to hear any more than God has already said and recorded in his Word.
    So you’re not alone my friend, we’re far from home in this present world. It’s hard to walk the walk, and self discipline is tough but possible. It’s not a natural character trait, it has to be learned, and I’m trying my best to do better, because ………. I am so grateful to God for who he is to me, and what Jesus has done for me. As broken as I am, I will seek to honour him with my life for as long as I live, because without him, my life is pointless.
    Stay strong and keep the faith always,
    Steve.

Leave a Reply

