~A Whistled Goodbye~

A night bird calls me from a distant willow.
It sings to me as I lay my head on my pillow.
His melody tells me things that only my ears could hold

If you awake tomorrow you’d be so bold.
For the sorrow will still shine,
but tonight I’ll keep you with mine.

He sings so slowly and paces each verse.
He whistles over the wind, and silences the curse.

I say

Maybe tonight I can be within his heart,
and tomorrow I will face being torn apart.

You know you’ll lose the next time around.
The same you’ll feel as before, he’ll leave with no sound.
Come with me. I’ll whistle away the torment.
So when you look down, he’ll be on his knees to repent
.

With his breath so sweet my attention is won,
and I know he knows I feel alone.

He’ll say

Forgive me and take away the burden.
That I left that lovely woman alone and hurting.
Her tears I never heard splash even with my head turned.
I took her love for granted, and now I am the one burned.

So come with me my sweet love.
Coast with the wind so high above.
Yes, take your life that is damned anyway.
It will still hurt if you awake another day
.

I close my eyes with the last shot heard.
I soon…
Will fly along…
With that whistling night bird….

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Friday, July 20, 2007, in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

