Fibromyalgia is kicking my ass!

This fibromyalgia is kicking my ass. The pain is now all over my body. I have a burning now in my shoulder that is about to drive me crazy! The worst of it all is the sleep! I am getting none! My husband probably thinks I am getting sleep but I think he doesn’t get the whole FMS situation. Even though I sleep lets say two hours before the baby gets up to eat I am not actually getting sleep to help my body.

I am getting to the point I am about to just breakdown all together. Not only am I getting interruptions due to the baby needing to eat every 3 hours but also I am getting interruptions in sleep due to brain activity caused by this damn fibromyalgia.

I have medicine that would knock me out for 8 hours easy but I don’t take it for fear I wouldn’t hear the baby. I have to wait until she sleeps through the night to go on those medicines again.

It isn’t only the sleep that is breaking me down…the pain is getting ridiculous also. With less sleep the FMS pain is more severe and that is on top of having this damn tumor in my back causing me separate pain. I feel as if I will go crazy very soon simply due to having FMS, the tumor and a 5-week-old baby. I just don’t know what I can do to alleviate my situation here!

I haven’t even mentioned my terrible headaches that have returned with a vengeance!

I hope that I don’t end up sick due to these problems. Just let me make it through until my new arrival sleeps through the night!!!

Some background on FMS and what I am dealing with personally due to FMS so you have more of an understanding.

Most people with fibromyalgia also have an associated sleep disorder known as alpha- EEG anomaly. In this disorder, the individual’s deep sleep periods are interrupted by bouts of waking-type brain activity, resulting in poor sleep.

Current research indicates that stage IV sleep (deepest or most restful stage of sleep) is also important in repairing tissue damage and feeling psychologically rested after sleep. (Sleep laboratory studies of people with fibromyalgia often show a sleep disorder in which the stage IV sleep is disturbed or interrupted. Doctors refer to this disturbance as alpha intrusion of stage IV sleep.)

The information above can be found here.

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Sunday, July 8, 2007, in Fibromyalgia, health, Journal Pages. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I just ready your recent post on your FM kicking your butt. When were you diagnosed as having FM. I don’t know your health history, so I apologize for asking questions that you may have already addressed in prior posts. I know for me it took doctors several years to finally agree that I had FM. Mind you I suffered from several other ailments such as fibroids, diabetes, diverticulitis, depression, i was over weight, my gall bladder burst inside me just a few weeks after the birth of my second child, i had 6 pregnancies and i have 4 children living and 2 are with the Lord, i was diagnosed as being peri-menopausal, i suffered severe migraines, seasonal allergies that lasted all year long, i suffered from insomnia, memory loss and so many other things that came and went over the years i would be here all day. i said all that to say this, back in 2004 i developed a severe case of bronchitis which developed into pnuemonia. i was so sick i was off my feet for a month. as i began to feel to get better physically, my mind began to shut down and i sank into a deep depression. i was already taking effexor at the maximum dosage to treat some of my ailments but the doctor said it was primarily to treat me for menopause. long story short, my primary doctor ended up having me see a phsychiatrist because he was not qualified to treat my depression and felt like a physchiatrist would be able to know what i could take that would not conflict with other medications i was on. at one point i was taking 11 different meds a day. i was upset that i had to see a “shrink” but i would not have been the first time although i have to admit this time i really did not major help. i’m sorry for rambling, i’ll get to the point – it was the best thing that ever happened to me. the doctor prescribed Cymbalta and even though they say it’s just for depression, it treats pain and it helped to reduce a lot of the FM pain. I also recommend taking vitamins and anti-oxidants. Nutrilite (#1 selling vitamins in the country) has Double X as well as a fruit and vegetable concentrate that is just outstanding. Milk thistle and Dandelion also helps your liver by removing excess fat and toxins. you can check out http://www.jbmall.biz to learn more about the company and the products. I also began Reikki therapy which also helped with the FM. I assume you subscribe to the FM newsletter and get regular emails about the latest treatments available however if you don’t – make sure you sign up. The other thing that i truly feel helped me overcome the aches and pain of FM was my faith in the healing power of Jesus. I highly recommend a little booklet (only $1.99) by Charles Capps called God’s Creative Power for Healing. It is so important to speak healing into our bodies no matter how we feel. i know what it is like for you, believe me, i suffered for over 15 years. the pain is real, the disease is real and finally the medical community is seeing it as something real, but WE must also be real and not let it take over our lives and control how we live. take the focus off of FM and put it where it will do the most good, on Jesus. I will lift you up in prayer and hope you will do the same for yourself. I pray that God will touch you and heal you with His perfect touch from the crown of your head, to the souls of your feet and grant you the peace that only He can give. God Bless, ^i^…briggie

  2. Thank you for your comment Brig. I appreciate the advice. I was diagnosed with FM during my last pregnancy and unfortunately they couldn’t give me any type of medicine to help with it. My primary doctor does have a plan for me with medicines the only problem is most of them I can’t take until my 5 week old is sleeping at least 6 hours a night- she is a month away from doing that. I have other health problems too on top of having FM as stated in my post- I have a tumor on the nerve in my back that also causes me pain and it prevents me from doing any type of serious exercise and even stretches- which would help with the FM if I could do those things. Unfortunately again I am not able to take the medicine for that problem either due to not being able to sleep a full night yet. I pray every night Brig for myself and others. I’ll take all the prayers I can get from anyone willing to throw one in for me and I appreciate your kindness in doing so. Jesus does make a difference indeed. It took me years to finally get figured out what was wrong with me too. The tumor started in 1998 and I only found out about it being there in 2005 when I was forced to have surgery. That is a long story and you could probably find the story to that in previous posts I have put up under the health tag, Lupus tag, and the Fibromyalgia tag if you are interested in the background on that. For a while I worried it was Lupus and still have some doubts on it just being FMS but in time if it is Lupus it will come out and if it isn’t Lupus then thank God that it isn’t. I have family with it so I know the seriousness of SLE.

    I am glad you visited me here at my journal page and hope you visit more often.

    Thank you for your nice words. God bless.
    JustOrdinary

Leave a Reply

