I am not sure I buy the Fibromyalgia diagnosis…

Symptoms I have that match Fibromyalgia from Mayo Clinic page

· Fatigue
· Irritable bowel syndrome
· Headaches
· Depression
· Anxiety
· Difficulty concentrating
· Dry skin
· Painful menstrual periods (Doesn’t every woman? LOL)

Symptoms of Fibromyalgia that I don’t have listed at the Mayo Clinic page

· Numbness or tingling in hands and feet
· Chest pain
· Dry mouth
· Dizziness
· Heightened sensitivity- being sensitive to odors, noises, bright lights and touch
· Facial pain
· Widespread pain (I don’t match most of the pressure points)

Symptoms I have that match SLE (Lupus) listed at the Mayo Clinic page

· Arthritis- Joint pain
· Arthritis- Joint stiffness
· Facial rash (Waiting for dermatology to give a definite answer for my rash)
· Headaches
· Shortness of breath
· Heart palpitations
· Mucosal ulcers- Mouth and nose sores (More nose sores then mouth for me)
· Fatigue
· Vision problems (I have a hole in my retina)
· Digestive problems- abdominal pain, weight loss
· Hair loss
· Depression

Symptoms that match SLE (Lupus) that I don’t have or haven’t been checked for
(Some of these are questionable because I may have them but not match them exactly)

· Raynaud’s phenomenon- fingers, toes, nose and ears turn pale and numb in cold temperature (My fingertips turn red, almost purple in cold exposure and tingle)
· Swelling- swollen glands, swelling in legs, around the ears and eyes
· Fever- higher than 100 F (I have run low grade fevers from time to time, usually no higher that 99 F)
· Blood vessel disorders- inflamed blood vessels (Never been checked for that)
· Lung problems- inflammation of the chest cavity lining (Never had my lungs checked)
· Heart problems- Pericarditis, which occurs when the pericardium becomes inflamed (Never have had my heart checked either)
· Kidney problems- lupus can cause numerous types of glomerulonephritis, a condition that affects the kidneys’ ability to filter toxins, leading to kidney failure. (Have had kidney infections but never been checked for glomerulonephritis)
· Seizures, or stroke

Symptoms I have not listed with the Mayo Clinic page regarding SLE (Lupus)

· Anemia- low red blood cells
· Loss of appetite (Usually have to force myself to eat)
· Aching feet at the joints and ankle
· Hives from time to time
· Nausea from time to time

I am not certain I buy the Fibromyalgia diagnosis. Now the problem is I have had the rheumatologist tell me that most likely I do not have SLE (Lupus) but he would not rule it out completely because newer symptoms could show up to prove that my problem is SLE (Lupus).

I am wondering how can he say I have fibromyalgia with such a small amount of symptoms matching that disease?

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Friday, February 23, 2007, in Fibromyalgia, health, Journal Pages, Lupus. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. seems there are a lot of confusion between lupus and fibromyaliga. there was also a point in time in my life when i taught it was fibro because of all same symptoms. it seems that your rheuma is in a hurry to give you a verdict.
    i hope you would be given more thorough test to avoid wrong diagnosis. demand for more.
    much better to be sure that sorry.

  2. I agree with milette. Take care. I will be thinking of you.

  3. I think that they use fibromyalgia as loose diagnosis. I have talked to several people who really do have this. I do not fall into that category. I fall more under the lupus diagnosis that the dr. doesn’t seem to think i have full blown. even though i have tested positive for lupus twice.

  4. Fibromyalgia is a syndrome that affects mostly women. It is non-joint rheumatism that has widespread pain and fatigue associated with it. Muscular aching and stiffness are common symptoms of this condition as well as what are termed trigger points. Trigger points in fibromyalgia are located in the neck, back and extremities and are tender when touched or pressed. Sleep disturbance is another main symptom of Fibromyalgia and contributes to the fatigue that accompanies this syndrome.

    There are other symptoms of Fibromyalgia that include:

    • irritable bowel syndrome
    • back pain, headaches
    • pelvic pain
    • muscle spasms
    • twitching and tingling
    • and others.

    Knowing these symptoms is important because there are ways to relieve them.

    Fibromyalgia affects everyone differently. Some people have symptoms that come and go and are mild to moderate in intensity, while others are so affected that they are disabled by the condition. Although there is no known cure for fibromyalgia, there are many natural treatments that can help alleviate the symptoms.

  5. I too was diagnosed with fibromyalgia after suffering for 6 yrs. I was first told i had ms untill i saw neurologist who ruled this out. this was in 1996. Now i am experiencing more lupus symptoms than those of fibromyalgia. The only lupus symptom i do not have is butterfly rash unless it can affect only one side of face where i have had a pre cancerous legion being treated by dermatologist. These two deseases are very similar and have a lot of same symptoms and i do believe you can have both. A simple blood test is supposed to show lupus yet i am still being sent to rhuematologist for consult. My syptoms willl go into remission, will become severe, constantly changing – never know what to expect from one day to the next. This illness can literally drive a person crazy. Especially when you appear fine and people do not believe you are ill. I also experience a lot of mood swings and personality changes

  6. I have been diagnosed with Fibromyalgia. My symptoms include: Muscle spsasm, Migraines, numbness and tingling. Nausea, reynauds Phenomenon, Butterfly rash, heart palpitations, Nasal sores, throat ulcers. Been to a neurologist, orthopeodic and a rheumotologist. Been to the E.R several times because the pain was too intense. An E.R. doctor looked at my blue fingers and the rash on my facde and saw the agony i was in and he told me that all of my symptoms match SLE (Lupus). My blood work came back negative for Lupus and RA so my primary care doctor gave me the diagnosis of Fibro. The sun literally makes me sick to my stomach. The cold makes my joints and muscles ache horribly. I don’t know what to make of it. I am only 29 years old and I feel like I’m 60.

    • I am not a medical pro. I am a fibromyalgia patient and I would strongly urge you to see another rheumatologist or an endocronologist because what you are describing is classic lupus symptoms. I was just recently told I do not have lupus only because I do not have the Butterfly rash, and does not show up in preliminary blood work. There is more detailed bloodwork the doctors can do. I suffer from cold terribly – especially air conditioning makes me very ill. Sun does not. How bazaar. I have had this for 20 yrs and still have new symptoms all the time. I am beginning to think there is something wrong with my pituatary gland. Have you checked that out – many symptoms same.

    • Sorry I forgot to say_ see another symptom. Did it come on suddenly for you? That’s how it happened with me, woke up one New Years Day and could not walk. Then was able to walk but in extreme pain. I also had polysystic ovarian disease – then endometrosis. Had to have complete Hysterectomy at age 36. Thought this was the answer to allmy pain but it was not. Went into instant menopause because my ovaries had to be removed. could not tolerate the hormone replacement meds. Then the fibro seemed to become so much worse. I remember being in so much pain I could not walk down the block, my whole body ached for years, was prescribed so many anti depresants – made me worse – more depressed. Tried various pain killlers – now just take ibuprofen and cannabis helps. Medical hemp seed pressing oil available at health food stores also helps. It contains no thc so you cannot get high off this. If you choose to do the real stuff that’s up to you. Itis a very difficult disease to deal with and at times will make you crazy. I feel for you!

  7. Have you tried elimnating all or most sugars and starches from your diet? I don’t know why but this helped me a lot. I went on my own version of atkins diet and felt much better

Leave a Reply

