My OB visit pretty much confirms the Rheumatologist I seen SUCKS!

So I have my visit with the OB today. Baby is great with a strong heartbeat. Interestingly though I got some information from her that I was not expecting to hear. What she told me made me realize that the rheumatoid doctor I seen probably don’t know what the hell he is talking about!

So I tell Dr. N that I had blood work done through my general practice doctor, Dr. T, and that the results shown that I had low red blood cell count and she said my hemoglobin was borderline. Dr. N pulls up the file and says that the hemoglobin is fine for pregnancy and the anemia from the low red blood cells have nothing to do with my pregnancy! I was shocked! I looked at her and said well the rheumatoid doctor I seen said that the anemia was from pregnancy and he also suggested my hair loss was from pregnancy even though it has been falling out pre-pregnancy. The next thing she said to me really made me infuriated at the rheumatoid doctor EVEN MORE!

Dr. N, the OB doctor, said that hair loss throughout pregnancy is not so common. She told me that hair loss usually occurs after the woman gives birth and since my hair loss has been established to start pre-pregnancy that my hair loss would not be connected to this pregnancy either! I am so pissed at that rheumatoid doctor! I am going to be writing him a nice letter and then I will be notifying the medical board too regarding his treatment of me during the visit. What a complete jackass that rheumatoid doctor is!!

It is closer to the date I go see the dermatologist. I go March 2nd. I’m looking forward to getting that done. I know he/she will rule out psoriasis on the scalp. The rash on my face I don’t think is roseate (Rosacea) but we’ll see what they say about that. I have looked up some other causes of hair loss and most of those have been ruled out. A thyroid problem can cause your hair to fall out and in my case my thyroid is normal. Also it backs up what my OB doctor, Dr. N, said about pregnancy and hair loss. It happens after giving birth women notice hair loss about 3 months after they’ve had a baby and this is hormone related. I haven’t given birth so this has been ruled out. Sometimes it could be the medicine you take that causes your hair loss. This could have been a possibility prior to getting pregnant for me. I was on some medicines that could have caused hair loss. However, this also has been ruled out because I have not been on my medicine for seven months now and the hair still falls out at a considerable amount to not be normal loss of hair.

Diabetes or another underlying disease can also cause hair loss. Diabetes has been ruled out in my case. It says Lupus is the other disease that can cause hair loss. Now this is where it confuses me regarding Lupus. I took an ANA test and it came back negative and I am wondering if I can test negative for the ANA but still have the disease? I will continue to look into that to see what I can find.

Alopecia areata was another thing listed that could cause hair loss. This could be a possibility. It is an autoimmune disease. The immune system attacks the hair follicles because it mistakes them for foreign invaders into the body. In MOST cases the hair loss happens in patches but not all cases (My hair doesn’t fall out in patches.) and it can lead to total loss of hair on the scalp. Alopecia areata often occurs in people whose family members have other autoimmune diseases, such as diabetes, rheumatoid arthritis, thyroid disease, systemic lupus erythematosus, pernicious anemia, or Addison’s disease. Some of those listed run in my family. Most of my information I retained from NIAMS (National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases) and you can feel free to visit that page yourself at http://www.niams.nih.gov.

Now I’ve also looked into Psoriasis and of course it doesn’t match my symptoms. The most common symptoms of psoriasis are thick, red patches known as plaques, and dry, silvery scales. I don’t have any of that going on anywhere on my scalp or skin. It is also considered to be an autoimmune disease except unlike alopecia areata that attacks hair follicles the immune system will attack the skin surfaces and the scalp with psorasis. Most cases of psorasis can affect the toenails and fingernails and again I have nothing going on in that area. I am confident that the dermatologist will rule out psorasis.

Now my facial rash doesn’t seem to fit the explanation about rosacea either. Rosacea is an inflammatory skin disease that causes facial redness. You may mistake some of its characteristics — small, red, pus-filled bumps or pustules — for acne. The rash I have on my face as state before is below the eyes on the cheekbones and on the nose. I have nothing on the forehead, chin or lower part of my cheeks. Also the rash I have doesn’t have pimples at all either. Rosacea can affect the eyes by bringing on a burning and gritty sensation, which I don’t have either. So from what I’ve read on this I am confident the dermatologist will also rule out this in my case.

Now back to Lupus again. I have read some information from all over the Internet on the disease and the best information in my opinion came from the MayoClinic web page. I found a photo of the skin rash connected to lupus and my rash is not quite as red as the picture shows, it is very similar to my own facial rash. lupusfacialrash.jpg

The American College of Rheumatology (ACR) has developed clinical and laboratory criteria to help physicians diagnose and classify lupus. If you have four of the 11 criteria at one time or individually over time, you probably have lupus.

Most of the persons (95-98%) with lupus have a positive ANA test. But, the rest of people can have a negative ANA test, and still have lupus. So, you can have symptoms of lupus and a negative ANA test and that is why you should be very careful.

Despite high sensitivity, a negative ANA test does not rule out systemic lupus erythematosus. Rarely, patients with isolated anti-Ro (anti-SS-A) antibodies or antisingle-stranded DNA (anti-ssDNA) have a negative ANA test. Also, patients with the systemic lupus erythematosuslike antiphospholipid syndrome may be ANA negative.

Now I don’t understand what a lot of this means but I do know by looking over my blood test order and results there is nothing there about anti-RO. I only see the ANA order and result, which was negative for me. I guess I will ask to have this tested in me to be sure it isn’t lupus that I have. Unfortunately I am thinking it can be nothing else.

Further down the rabbit hole of my medical problems we go! Thanks for visiting. If you have any information that could be useful to me please feel free to pass it on so that I might have a look.

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Thursday, February 15, 2007, in health, Journal Pages, Lupus. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I want to know if you test postive for lupus 2x but negative at least once if you still have it. Or can it test negative if you are in remission

  2. Audrey there is a lot I still do not understand about Lupus myself but I can tell you this:

    My aunt tested negative for Lupus for years but the doctor she seen at that time said he was almost positive she had Lupus- so he kept seeing her and kept testing her and eventually she did in fact test positive for the ANA.

    From what I’ve read about Lupus at the Mayo Clinic page- if you test positive for ANA you do have Lupus- testing negative once in between? I am not sure what that would mean except, I would agree that you were not in a flare- or you were in remission of the disease and your body didn’t have the antibodies at that time therefore testing negative on the ANA test at that time

    I am not expert or doctor so perhaps you should seek advice from them to know for sure.

Leave a Reply

