Ten Years Have Gone By -written March 2006

Dear Dad,
Ten years have gone by
Yet it still feels like I’m the one who died
Not sure this emptiness will ever subside
Oh the tears I engulf on the inside
Sometimes I feel crazy for feeling so alone
And I have an urge to get back home
Yet nothing is waiting there for me
Except your lingering memory

No one understands what I have gone through
The years of battling to let go of you
You walk behind me each step I take
And everyday my heart breaks
When I dream, you are there
It is when I wake I can’t bear
Reality sets in and I no longer hear your voice
You become my ghost

When I close my eyes…
When I call back home…
I just wish you weren’t gone

My child has a piece of who you were
That piece you passed onto me
Yet I feel sadness that could unsettle the human race
Even with my eyes wide open, all I see is your face
This fight has made me weary, and bitter cold inside
Dad, I have no where to go, no where to hide
I don’t know how to live…
Cause I feel I’ve already died.

Sometimes it is too much to abide…
Dear dad…ten years have gone by…

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Saturday, January 27, 2007, in Journal Pages, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. This is an absolutely beautiful piece of poetry! You are a very talented writer. Keep writing, it soothes the soul.

  2. Beautiful! I am still crying!

  3. Sorry about your dad.
    I can identify myself with what you’ve written so much!
    Read this and this.

    10 years in your case. 15 in mine. 🙂

    And btw, nice blog.. 🙂

  4. Just wondering about you. Are you okay?

Leave a Reply

