Doesn’t everyone hide things about themselves?

I logged into Word Press to add some links to my page and long behold I have a very nice comment left for me from KuntryGurl. I usually read the BLOG of the person who leaves a comment to try to see if I can know them more by what they keep on their page. While visiting KuntryGurl’s page I read the post they kept there titled, “100 things about me” and thought what a great idea. I was impressed with the courage of some of the things they put down about themselves. I have found throughout my life, with people I have met, that often they have lied about themselves. Maybe lie is not the right word. Certainly they have hidden a lot about themselves. Maybe it is because they are plagued with the worries of “first impressions” counting most and they are not good enough that they feel the need to hide MOST of their personality until much later. I am not like that. I am NOT perfect! I am NOT always nice. I am not a lot of things and don’t hide anything from ANYONE. It works for me. I just wish it would work for more people to be open like that. I mean come on, think about it, wouldn’t it prevent a lot of bad situations from happening if people were more real from the very beginning?

Reading KuntryGurl’s BLOG has inspired this entry and has inspired me to do something similar to what they have done with the list about themselves. Maybe more people will prepare a list about themselves here at Word Press since it is as anonymous as you like it to be. The Internet allows people to feel more secure with being themselves. I think that anyway.

I want to unload myself here before I work on the list about myself. The list might not be done in one night but I will surely start it tonight after this post. (By the way today has been good for me all day! Dinner was great and I was so happy being able to make it with little problems of fatigue, pain, etc. Now onto my post.) Time to unload myself…

Imagine if the politician was honest about what they really stood for? I know that is hard to do but try. I will not use any particular politician because I don’t want to start a debate here and now with this post. We all know they lie, or hide things about themselves and the policies they support. So with that let me get this out…

If we knew without a doubt that they did in fact support wars or we’ll say global rule that the people would be much better educated about knowing whether to support them. Instead they’ll hide that policy stance perhaps and then people will support them but would not if they had known they were into starting wars or wanted to stand up for global rule. You could use this with any issue. The bottom line is if they were completely honest the public could vote more wisely and send money to support a candidate more wisely. We would have a true candidate every time.

Somewhere along the line we have been conditioned to ACCEPT they are not totally honest on issues. Why is that? Why not hold each accountable for any deception they hand out? If one says they are for something but vote against it or do the complete opposite then what they said with the first impression why not hold them accountable for that deception? Why accept “they all lie”?

I guess I didn’t get something that others did growing up. Something didn’t sink in with me where this topic is concerned. My dad must have told me to many times that lies of any kind are very bad and that you should always be you no matter what anyone will think of the real you.

I know through my life I have not gotten jobs because I was the REAL me. I know through my life people have disliked me because I was the REAL me. I know being the honest real me has perhaps closed doors for me throughout life. I accept that as a part of life.

However I believe I am where I am supposed to be. I know that being the true me that it also opened doors for me that otherwise would not have budged.

What makes people hide the true aspects of whom they are? How about you, do you hide true aspects of who you are at anytime? If so, why do you do that? What is it you hide about yourself? You can be honest here it is anonymous.

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Friday, January 26, 2007, in Journal Pages. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. HI! Glad my post inspired you. It took me quite a few days to make that list. I’m sure there are some things I missed. But I figure what better way to get to know someone. Thanks or commenting. Can’t wait to read your list!

  2. very interesting.
    i’m adding in RSS Reader

Leave a Reply

