A friend commits suicide

joeworthington.jpgHis name was Joe Worthington. I get news from my hometown that he had hung himself. Twenty-eight years old and he had three children. I only knew of the oldest two. The newest was just a baby I guess. It is so terrible for the children to have Christmas tainted in this way for them for the rest of their lives.

We went to school together and were really good friends. I remember when I first met him I thought he was so adorable. His dark wavy hair and his personality were just great. We got along fabulously. We were in some mischief together but that is a normal thing in high school isn’t it?

He had hung himself on Christmas Eve and they found him on Christmas day I heard. When my aunt had told me I was completely shocked. I had not talked with Joey for a couple years but last time I visited home I had seen him. I knew he battled some personal issues but he was still that funny Joey I knew from high school.

His sense of humor was great. What a cracker jack he was. I didn’t get to go to the funeral. If I had been back home I surely would have gone.

A big part of me was so pissed to have heard he had killed himself. What a selfish prick I thought! Then the sadness overwhelmed me. It is so sad that he thought there were no other outs available to him. We were the same age and a part of me could relate so well with him being in that mindset. The mindset where you see things just aren’t good anymore and you are so tired of life in general. Yeah, I’ve been there myself.

Him committing suicide has affected me more than I thought that it would have. Joey will be one person that I’ll miss a great deal. His face will be one that will be absent from that future school reunion that I will attend and he will not be forgotten. What a sad, sad outcome for so many…

In loving memory of you Joey!
1978-2006

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Thursday, January 18, 2007, in Christmas, Journal Pages, Suicide. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

