Two Loves Surrender

(The lady says)
Is there anyone there?
Something to make life fair?
A human touch that soothes this pain…
Something that just isn’t the same…
A love that lingers through all time
A passion forever, a soul united with mine

That taste of life that I long to keep,
forever two souls as one, no longer weep.

There have been times when your pain ran so deep.
When the spark in your eye spoke out to me.
I knew you were the one I wanted for eternity.
The love that glistened behind your fair eyes,
Spoke to me, said love holds no lies

When you come to me in the full moonlight
I ask, do I see an angel or a dream come to life

For every time you have cried,
my heart opened wide.
And every time you sighed,
I took your pain inside.

There were times we were all wrong,
felt as if our hearts were not one.

(The man replies)
That smile that crosses over your lips.
It takes over me and doesn’t loosen the grip.
You’re the one that silences that shrieking cry within.
You numb all my pain, but you bring such sin.
You’re my beginning and my end.

While those tears streak down your beautiful face…
Are we truly in our right place?
Without you, there is only the memory that I’ll live,
I’ll not have another to share the pain I give.

The times I pull you down,
replacing that smile with a frown,
I know I can show a loving way.
So many things I could do, so many things I could say.

When I wake with you laying beside me,
I can’t think of a better place to be.
I watch you sleep in peaceful dreams,
and smile as you whimper against me.

Where would life lead me with you not here?
Nowhere but down and wishing you were near.
So I take advantage of seeing you lay in silence.
It’s as if your sweet surrender to night is my guidance.

I hear your heartbeat next to my own,
I never want to wake to being alone.

(Lady whispers)
For another to hold you is one of my fears,
and I’m reminded with each of my tears.
That insecurity that hits so often in the day
I’m afraid I’ll lose you, that our love will go astray
Maybe that is what causes us to lose our way,
and now we think of it, the rest of our lonely days.
As we sit in silence, no words flow from you nor I,
as we sit with dreams, not sharing as we once would try
Forever that lonliness fills us, years going by…

(The man whispers)
That moment we had to talk it all out…
When we insisted things were OK,
underneath holding the doubt,
So we kept silent, tears covering our pillow shades,
We had lived in love of masquerade.

(Published in 1999)

About JustOrdinary

Hello my name is Rachel…around here I’m best known as Just Ordinary. I created this blog page to share pieces of my life with you, the reader, also to share my projects, and writings. This blog page I have created is a collection of realty and fiction. Not everything I write pertains to me or my life.

Posted on Saturday, December 16, 2006, in Journal Pages, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

